If you buy something through a link in our posts, we may get a small share of the sale.
Attaining gun handling competence gives you an advantage as you gain the confidence you need to safely handle your firearm in any situation. Even in a surprise attack, you will not panic and cause harm to yourself or any other unintended party. You can gain this confidence by visiting shooting ranges to complete this professional course.
Do You Need a Gun Permit to Shoot at a Gun Range in Washington?
You do not need a gun permit to shoot at a gun range in Washington. However, special consideration is given to concealed permit holders in some gun ranges such as permission to carry loaded concealed weapons in the range. Washington operates on the Shall Issue policy, offering conceal permits to both residents and non-residents.
Using facilities at a gun range is made easier as all you need is an official photo ID card that shows you are above 18 years. The issue of permits comes into the equation when it is time to transport your firearm to and from the firing range. You should therefore be clear on what the law says about transportation of firearms in Washington.
The state allows open carry of a loaded handgun, but you need to be over 21 years to do this without a permit. For a concealed weapon, you need to get a concealed carry weapon permit from the sheriff’s office or police department depending on where you reside. You need to be at least 21 years to qualify for a permit, with the permit being valid for 5 years.
Honoring Permits from Other States
Washington state honors concealed carry permits from states that meet the set requirements that include:
- The other state should honor the Washington concealed carry license.
- The permit holders should be over 21 years.
- The other state should check fingerprints as well carry out mental health history on the permit applicants.
States that Honor Washington Concealed Carry Permits
Currently, 25 states honor Washington-issued concealed carry permits while the states that Washington honors include:
- Idaho – Washington only honors the Idaho Enhanced Permit
- North Dakota – Washington recognizes its Class 1 North Dakota Permit
Concealed Carry Weapon Permit Requirements in Washington
To qualify for the concealed carry permit, you need to meet the following requirements:
- You must be at least 21 years old.
- You should not have any outstanding warrants.
- You should not be having any pending charges.
- You should not have any felony convictions.
- No court order or injunction should have been filed against you for firearm possession.
- You should not be awaiting trial, appeal or sentencing for a felony offense and are out on bond.
- You should not have been required to forfeit a firearm in the past 12 months
- You have no previously revoked concealed pistol license.
- You should not have any mental issues/conditions.
- You should fulfill all federal law requirements.
You can carry your firearm in your vehicle without a permit only if it is unloaded and is in a closed case or secured gun storage. However, you need to have your concealed permit with you if you will be carrying it loaded inside your vehicle. Some areas such as state parks, state and national forests and roadside rest areas allow concealed firearms.
While demonstrated competence in safe firearm handling is not necessary for concealed carry permit issuance in Washington, it gives an assurance of safety. You can gain the gun handling skills and knowledge from gun ranges in Washington through structured lessons provided by trained gun professionals. Be sure to check whether the gun range you choose offers this training.