As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Gun violence is very high in states with weak gun laws and low gun safety precautions. That is a trend that lawmakers should move with speed to correct. They can do that by requiring background checks for all firearm purchases. People should also be encouraged to visit gun ranges more to engage in safe shooting.
Do You Need a Gun Permit to Shoot at a Gun Range in Idaho?
No, you don’t need a gun permit to shoot at a gun range in Idaho because you can open carry without a permit, unlike concealed carry. However, open carry comes with many requirements and regulations that you must know if you plan to open carry. You do not have to apply for a permit to acquire a firearm.
Is Open Carry Legal in Idaho?
Open carry is legal in Idaho for individuals above 18 years, which is also the legal age to acquire a gun. There are restricted places to open carry unless you are a law enforcement officer or a United States Armed Forces member. More restrictions may be imposed at the county level because a county can regulate open carry within its jurisdiction.
Open Carry Laws in Idaho
Idaho being a permissive open carry state, you can open carry your firearm without an issued permit. Buying, owning, or selling machine guns, antiques, and similar firearms is considered lawful as long as they are registered with the relevant authorities and handled according to the state’s statutes.
No specificity is available about them, and they are considered ordinary firearms free to open carry. If you have such guns, feel free to shoot at a gun range without any worry.
Legal Places to Open Carry
The places allowed for possession and open carry in Idaho include:
- Restaurants and bars, unless the management forbids
- In a private car, but the firearm must be visible at all times
- Along roadsides
- In state forests, parks, and wildlife management areas
- In places of worship, except when prohibited by management
Illegal Places to Open Carry
It is considered a felony to carry firearms in the following places:
- Private and publicly owned schools, colleges, technical institutions, universities, including school buses, recreational areas, and halls of residence
- Courthouses or courtrooms during court proceedings
- Jails, prisons, and detention facilities
- Care homes for children or veterans
- Private buildings or properties that prohibit it
- Anywhere forbidden by the federal law of the USA
You can apply for a concealed carry permit after attaining the age of 18 years. While permitless carry is legal outside the city limits for persons over 18 years, open carry is only permitted within the city limits.
Here are the instances where an individual does not need a concealed weapon license to carry or possess a firearm.
- Any deadly weapon that is visible
- Any legally possessed rifle or shotgun
- An unloaded firearm that is concealed in a vehicle
- An unloaded firearm that is enclosed in a holster, or a gun case with a lock.
- A dissembled or permanently altered firearm that is not readily operable
- A concealed gun carried by an individual who is above 18 years, an Idaho resident, and not disqualified from possessing a firearm
According to Idaho gun laws, a person without a concealed carry license may carry a firearm or a deadly weapon in a car when it is loaded and concealed in a gun case. It is unlawful to carry a concealed weapon when drunk or under the influence of an intoxicating substance.
While no permit is required to own or purchase a handgun, shotgun, or rifle, it is essential to be responsible in gun handling to protect yourself and the state effectively. Find a gun range in Idaho and attend a firearms safety and training class to enhance your gun handling knowledge and skills.