If you buy something through a link in our posts, we may get a small share of the sale.
Are you a resident of North Dakota and you own a firearm for personal protection? Well, many gun owners are unaware of the fact that you need to fire your weapon on a regular basis so as to keep it in good working condition.
The best place where you can safety perform these shooting drills is at a gun range where they have properly equipped shooting lanes and professional instructors. If you are interested in visiting a shooting range, it is important to be aware about whether you will need a permit to shoot at the facility.
Do You Need a Gun Permit to Shoot at a Gun Range in North Dakota?
No, you do not need a gun permit to shoot at a range in North Dakota because the state adopts a shall-issue and unrestricted policy whereby it is legal for residents who are over 18 years of age to carry a firearm without a permit.
Summary of Gun Laws In North Dakota
North Dakota is a shall-issue state whereby concealed carry permits are issued at the state level by the attorney general’s office. One does not need to have a background check, permit, or firearm registration when purchasing a gun from a private individual.
Constitutional concealed carry is allowed for residents of North Dakota who have a valid ID card or driver’s license. When it comes to open carry, any person is allowed to carry an unloaded firearm during daylight hours. Individuals looking to open carry outside these hours are required to have a concealed weapons license.
Concealed Weapon Licenses
The USSCA website explains that there are 2 types of Concealed Weapon Licenses (CWL) that you can apply for in North Dakota, namely Class 1 and Class 2. The main difference between these 2 permits is the fact that a Class 1 license has reciprocity in more states.
Both licenses hold equal validity in the state of North Dakota, however the Class 1 license has some extra testing requirements and this is what causes it to carry reciprocity in more states. A new permit costs $60 and a renewal also costs $60. The application process is completed within 60 days.
Additional Gun Laws
If you are driving on the way to a shooting range and you get pulled over by a police officer, it is important to note that in North Carolina there is a duty to inform residents carrying a gun without a permit. On the other hand, if you already have a concealed carry permit, then there is no duty to inform.
For those carrying their own ammunition in their range bags on their way to the shooting range, you will be glad to know that North Carolina does not have any limit on the maximum magazine capacity that a handgun can carry. Furthermore, there are no ammunition restrictions for gun owners in the state.
Different shooting ranges have different features and range guidelines. For instance, certain gun ranges in North Dakota will only allow specific types of weapons or ammunition. In addition, some gun ranges allow teenagers to shoot firearms at the facility while others do not. For this reason, it is important for you to contact the gun range in advance so as to find out the specific measures that they have in place.
A CBS News article reports that over 55% of adults in North Dakota have guns in their households. With more than half of the state’s adult population owning firearms, it is not surprising that there is a wide variety of impeccable gun ranges scattered all over the region.