As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Gun ranges in Virginia provide you with convenient safe spaces where you can target practice without risk to yourself and others. These facilities have trained safety officers on duty to offer assistance and guidance. It is important to follow the set rules and regulations to make these facilities safe for all users.
Do You Need a Gun Permit to Shoot at a Gun Range in Virginia?
You do not need a gun permit to shoot at a gun range in Virginia. All you require to access the range facilities is a government-issued photo identification card to show that you are above 18 years.
You do not require a permit to own a gun in Virginia. Therefore, it is not a requirement to use for Virginia gun range facilities.
Virginia has relatively liberal gun laws and is a ‘Shall Issue’ state. This means that it is easy to get a permit for conceal carry, which is a must for carrying concealed weapons. It is important to know what Virginia gun laws allow and what is illegal, especially when it comes to transporting your firearm to and from the gun range.
Virginia allows open carry of both long guns and handguns without the need for a permit. The law requires a permit for any concealed handgun. You can get this permit for concealed carry even if you are a non-resident of Virginia.
The permit is valid for five years and it costs $50.
Places Where You Can Carry a Concealed Weapon in Virginia
Some private properties may not allow the presence of guns, and you should be on the lookout for any signage prohibiting guns.
If you are not going directly to the range or have to pass through other places before heading home after practice, you can legally conceal carry your weapon as long as you have your permit in the following places:
- With a permit, you can transport your handgun in your vehicle, making it a convenient way to move between the range and your home. If you do not have a permit, you can still transport the handgun as long as you have it secured in a case or gun safe container. You can also transport it in your car without a permit if it is in your glove compartment or any other place that can be closed.
- You can carry a concealed weapon with a permit in state and national parks, forests, and wildlife management areas.
- You can have your concealed weapon at a bar or restaurant as long as you are not consuming alcohol.
- You can store your concealed gun in a vehicle at your workplace unless you are working at a correctional facility or government agency, entity or department.
Applying for Virginia Concealed Carry Weapon Permit
Virginia allows both residents and non-residents to apply for this license. Virginia State also honors concealed carry weapon permits from recognized states under the Reciprocity program. If you are a non-resident, you need to apply by mail to the Department of State Police. To apply for the permit, you need to:
- Be over 21 years old
- Present a photo ID from any state or federal government
- Not have had a previous revocation of Virginia concealed carry license in the past
- Complete a state-approved handgun training course
Knowing how the law applies to firearm permits allows you to safely move with your firearm to and from the shooting range without breaking any laws. While you may opt to open carry, remember to put your safety and that of others first, especially if you are new at firearm handling. Protect your firearm from any unscrupulous people that may snatch the weapon from you.