If you buy something through a link in our posts, we may get a small share of the sale.
Every state has its own unique set of regulations pertaining to firearms possession and use. If you are a shooting enthusiast living in Arkansas, then it is important for you to familiarize yourself with the specific gun laws which are in place in your state.
In addition, if you plan on visiting another state and would like to visit a gun range, then you should also be aware of the regulations that apply in your destination.
Do You Need a Gun Permit to Shoot at a Gun Range in Arkansas?
No, you do not need a permit to shoot at a gun range in Arkansas because according to the state guidelines, open carry is legal without a permit for anyone who is over 18 years of age and they are legally possessing the firearm without unlawful intent.
If you plan on visiting a gun range, here is some useful information that you should keep in mind pertaining to gun laws in Arkansas:
The state of Arkansas is recognized as a shall-issue, permitless carry state whereby the Department of Public Safety issues concealed carry permits. In addition, there is no background check, firearms registration or permit that is required when buying a handgun from a private individual.
Concealed Handgun Carry Licenses (CHCL) are issued to residents of Arkansas who are at least 21 years of age. Alternatively, the CHCL can also be issued to residents who have attained the age of 18 years if they are a member of the National Guard or the U.S Armed Forces and they have undergone a state-approved firearms training course.
A basic 5-hour training class is required to be completed in order to obtain a CHCL license. The permit is valid for 5 years.
If you are planning to move to Arkansas and you would like to apply for a resident license, there are provisions in the law which make this possible. In order to apply for the license, you are required to have been a resident living in Arkansas for at least 90 days.
You can also apply for this license if you are a member of the Navy Seal, National Guard, military or if you are a military spouse.
Types of Licenses
The state of Arkansas offers 2 different types of handgun carry licenses, namely the CHCL and the Enhanced Concealed Carry Licenses (E-CHCL). The main difference between the two licenses is the fact that the E-CHCL allows carrying in certain forbidden areas such as most public buildings, public colleges, churches, non-secure locations in airports and more.
Those applying for the E-CHCL are required to undergo approximately 8 extra hours of classroom and gun range training.
Despite the fact that the law does not require you to have a gun permit to shoot at a range in Arkansas, it is still advisable that you should contact the gun range that you intend to visit so as to find out which specific rules they have at their facility.
Some gun ranges in Arkansas only allow certain gun calibers while others only allow certain types of weapons. For instance, it would be a huge inconvenience for you to carry your pistol to a gun range only to later realize that it is a shotgun-only facility.
Hence, you should always do your best to get in touch with the gun range in advance so as to make sure that you are well-prepared with your gun accessories and equipped to visit the establishment.
The gun laws in Arkansas have been carefully formulated to allow shooting enthusiasts to enjoy their beloved sport in a safe manner. So, if you are a resident of Arkansas or you would like to visit this fantastic location, be sure to pay a visit to some of the excellent gun ranges in the area to learn how to shoot for a thrilling experience .