If you buy something through a link in our posts, we may get a small share of the sale.
Going to the shooting range can either be quite enjoyable or very disastrous. It all depends on how well you prepare yourself and how much research you do. In order to have a great time, you need to have an idea of which equipment you need to carry, which range you want to visit and whether there are any special rules to follow at the range.
Depending on the laws of the state, you may need a permit to get in. Having this information in advance can help you get everything ready.
Do You Need A Gun Permit to Shoot at a Gun Range in Nebraska?
No, you do not need a gun permit to shoot at a gun range in Nebraska because it is not required by law. Nebraska is one of the states that has both strict and friendly gun laws depending on how you view it. Its laws are not as strict compared to states such as California, but they run a relatively tight ship in comparison to most red states.
If you are going to a shooting range in Nebraska, you will not need a permit to get in but you may need one if you plan on buying or selling any firearms.
The top three things to pay attention to are:
- Vehicle carry
- CCW permit requirements
- Firearm purchase certificate
Transporting firearms in your vehicle in Nebraska depends on a few factors such as where it is and whether you are a licensed firearm holder or not. Open carry is legal as long as the weapon is clearly visible.
According to the Giffords Law Center, Nebraska allows concealed weapons in the vehicles for all concealed handgun permit owners even in prohibited areas as long as they lock up the weapon safely in a gun case or enclosed portable gun safe, when exiting the vehicle. However, an employer can ban licensed employees from carrying in company vehicles.
When you come in contact with any law enforcement or emergency personnel, you are required by law to inform them that you are carrying a concealed weapon. Apart from your concealed weapons permit, you need to have your driver’s license when carrying.
CCW Permit Requirements
Nebraska is a ‘shall issue’ state and permits are issued by the Nebraska State Patrol located either in Troop area Headquarters outside Lincoln or in Lincoln. The state offers a Concealed Handgun Permit which is its equivalent of the CCW permit. The permit is restricted to residents except military personnel stationed in the state and their spouses.
This is according to the Gun Law Suits website.
As a resident, you need to meet certain standards in order to be legible. Some of them include:
- Must be a citizen of the United States
- Nebraska resident for the past 180 days
- At least 21 years old
- Complete a vision test
- Pass approved weapons safety training course
- No conviction for any firearm related charges or controlled substances in Nebraska or elsewhere for the past 10 years
Firearm Purchase Certificate
Apart from the concealed handgun permit, you also need to obtain a certificate if you want to buy, rent, lease, or get a handgun in Nebraska. This applies to all transactions; private and retail. You must be at least 21 years old to obtain this certificate. According to the Lancaster County website, exceptions are few including:
- Person buying is a licensed firearms dealer
- Transfer is temporary and transferee does not leave the building
- Transfers between family members
- Handgun is antique
The documents that are needed to make the application include:
- Valid Nebraska license or ID card with legal names
- Application fee- $5
- Birth certificate if born on military base
- Non-citizens should give a copy of citizenship papers, alien resident card or U.S passport
Nebraska law does not require you to have a permit to shoot at any of the ranges. There are no general laws governing gun ranges in Nebraska but observing the specific regulations of the range you visit and making sure that you have the necessary permits will allow you to enjoy the facilities.