As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Alabama is made up of 67 counties and most probably each has 67 different country laws on gun firing on private property. It is best to check out with the local county offices to ensure that you are within the law when target shooting on your property or any private property.
The Alabama state firearms code does not showcase where one may fire their gun. However, they have a long list of areas where one should not fire their guns and the backyard or private property is not on the list of prohibited areas.
- Can You Shoot on Your property in Alabama?
- Guns That Are Legal to Use on Your Property
- Safety Must Be Guaranteed
- Gun Laws in Alabama
- Related Questions
Can You Shoot on Your property in Alabama?
Yes. You can shoot on your property in Alabama. Alabama gun laws allow target or leisure shooting in residential properties as long as the property owner or lessee grants permission.
However, hunting regulations stipulate that shooting should be done on a property that has not more than one dwelling on an acre. Furthermore, your shooting sprees should not cause damage to property or cause injuries to other people.
Alabama Gun Laws
Alabama gun laws allow individuals to purchase rifles, shotguns, and handguns without a permit. This means that anyone above 18 years old can buy a firearm from the local hunting store or sporting goods store without the need to produce a permit from the state.
As a result, many homeowners in Alabama own guns and they can take part in shooting sports or target shooting in gun ranges and in their residential properties. However, it is always best to adhere to the set guidelines and firearms laws to avoid brushing shoulders with law enforcement officers.
Guns That Are Legal to Use on Your Property
Although the state of Alabama has its own laws and regulations regarding firearms, it must still follow some federal guidelines and laws. The state allows the purchase, possession, and use of rifles, handguns, and shotguns by an Alabama resident who is above 18 years old.
However, the sale and purchase of handguns from licensed dealers are limited to residents who are 21 years old and above. Additionally firearms that have no shoulder stock are not classified as shotguns or rifles and therefore, they are not available for purchase to people under 21 years of age. Other prohibited firearms and accessories include:
- Walking canes that are actually shotguns or rifles
- Short-barreled shotguns and rifles
- Guns whose identification mark has been altered
- Brass or steel Teflon-coated handgun ammunition that can penetrate bulletproof vests
The Alabama law also restricts the sale of firearms to individuals who have a history of violence, alcohol-related issues, and disorderly conduct. Furthermore, individuals who can be legally declared as mentally unstable should not buy any type of firearm.
Minors are also not allowed to own and use firearms but there are exceptions such as when they are on their parents’ property, when hunting with a license, or are target shooting under the supervision of an adult. All these regulations should be adhered to when shooting on your property to avoid any negative repercussions.
Safety Must Be Guaranteed
It is unlawful for anyone to discharge a firearm or hunt within 100 yards from any building or dwelling that belongs to another person regardless of whether it is occupied or not. However, you can seek permission from the owner or the lessee of the dwelling before carrying out your shooting escapades.
In addition, when shooting projectiles should not strike a building or dwelling that is used for human occupation or any commercial vessel. However, this regulation does not apply to property owners or lessee and their immediate family members who are shooting on their property.
Therefore, before carrying out any shooting activities, you must follow the basic firearm safety and as well as guarantee the safety of your family and your neighbors. This will prevent property damage and will avoid accidents that may cause injury or even death.
Penalties for Gun Violations in Alabama
In the state of Alabama, most gun violations are classified as Class A misdemeanors and they are punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $6000. Other violations are Class C felonies, with punishments of up to 10 years in prison or/and a fine not exceeding $15,000. These include:
- Giving false information to obtain a pistol or register a pistol
- Possession of a short-barreled shotgun or rifles
- Possession of a firearm that has altered identification or any prohibited penetrating ammunitions
- Possession of a gun while attempting or committing a violent crime or domestic violence crime
- Possession of a deadly firearm with the intent of harming someone
Gun Laws in Alabama
|State permit required to purchase||No||No|
|Assault weapon law||No||No|
|Magazine capacity restriction||No||No|
|Owner license required||No||No|
|Permit required for concealed carry||N/A||No|
|Permit required for open carry||No||No|
Can You Have a Gun in Your House in Alabama?
You can have a gun in your house in Alabama as long as you have a valid concealed weapon permit. If you are in someone else’s house, you need to have their consent to bring your gun with you.
Can I Shoot on Public Land in Alabama?
Yes, you can shoot on public land as long as it’s over 50 yards within the right-of-way of any public road, highway, or railroad. You also can’t use a shotgun using slugs or a .40 caliber or larger.
Can I Pull a Gun on Someone on My Property in Alabama?
Yes, you can pull a gun on someone on your property in Alabama if you implement the stand your ground statute. This means you can pull a gun on someone if there is a threat to your life, your family, and your property.
The use of firearms on private property in Alabama is allowed. However, you must ensure that you are at least 100 yards from an occupied building.
Furthermore, your shooting activities should not cause damage to property or people and you must use guns that are legalized by the state.
It is best to adhere to the gun laws of the state of Alabama to avoid getting into trouble with the law because gun charges carry hefty fines and sentences.